Author Topic: Caution!!  (Read 9846 times)

Ahnkochee

Re: Caution!!
« Reply #40 on: November 01, 2009, 05:20:53 PM »
I don't believe anyone was offended, we just don't want a nOOb getting a false sense of security thinking a rudder can make up for lack of skills or experience which really no mechanical device can do.   No replacement for time on the water especially time spent with more experienced paddlers.  ;)

Offline yelloman

• Ultra Member
  • reel nice!
« Reply #41 on: November 01, 2009, 06:10:43 PM »
Oh good, well glad I removed the advice before too many eyes see it.

I'm ok with straight talk - I can take it. Sometimes I will talk straight back

Yes I'm a nOOb in the blue water fishing department on my SOT in these waters here

However, I paddled a rudderless 11ft canoe for about three years on high elevation windy California lakes trolling for trout - so not a nOOb with the paddle stick . But I handn't told anyone here that - didn't feel I needed to - lakes ain't oceans. I still don't feel the kayak manouvers as nice as the canoe did. Anyways my rudder opinion wan't unfounded - just shouldn't have turned it into advice- point taken.

Offline Rocket

• Administrator
  • Ultra Member
  • There is kayak fishing and there is Aquahunters
« Reply #42 on: November 01, 2009, 06:24:48 PM »
Its a good topic to discuss.

Offline KChock

« Reply #43 on: April 14, 2010, 11:26:06 AM »
I'm sure the rudder vs. no rudder was hit upon in another thread somewhere.  Rudders can also bend, chafe/snag/cut your line, and give you another factor to deal with when hooked up or in some kind of bad situation.  The rudders on most SOTs can also come out of the water when maneuvering in surf.  On the other hand, rudders can be really helpful under certain conditions, like a steady cross wind.

Offline JDoc

« Reply #44 on: May 24, 2010, 09:29:35 PM »