Author Topic: What to do when current is ripping?  (Read 1965 times)

Offline Honza

• ;)
What to do when current is ripping?
« on: June 06, 2011, 08:21:13 AM »
Hi All!

As a big nOOb, I have never adventure to an area outside Kailua Bay and was wondering how do you find out that the current is ripping out there?
Can you help me answer these questions?

Is the current ripping when you stop paddling and you drift super fast or how do you find out?

When you get in to the strong current which direction should I go to get a safer location?

Is there any www page which shows you where the currents strong are on oahu or there is not such as standard location of strong currents?

Thank you for the safety tip ;)

Thanks
Exercise and Fishing that is Kayak fishing

Offline Kayaking Bob

• Fishing, Trolling, Sailing
    • KayakingBob
Re: What to do when current is ripping?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 08:44:47 AM »
Best advise for fishing/kayaking/sailing in a new area is to go out with someone that already knows the area well.  So many possible problems to wonder about and prepare for that someone who has regularly experienced them in that new area (to you) should know and prepare you for, or at least help you through the unknown.  Plus more fun.

Offline saltcreekcalico

• Ultra Member
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2011, 10:56:37 AM »