Author Topic: INTRODUCTIONS  (Read 26280 times)

Offline gothooked

Re: INTRODUCTIONS
« Reply #100 on: November 06, 2013, 07:36:47 PM »
Aloha AH Ohana
My name Is Sean.  Born and raised on Oahu.  Started kayak fishing a couple of years ago mainly to take my boy who loves to fish.   Aloha
Work Hard Play Harder

Offline uplandhawaii

• BentFrame4X4.com
« Reply #101 on: November 06, 2013, 07:50:36 PM »
Aloha guys! Hope you all have a good time out there, be safe!
HOW much is that to ship to Hawaii!!!???

Offline HapaBen

« Reply #102 on: December 19, 2013, 08:43:15 AM »
Howzit everyone. My name is Ben, and I was born and raised on Maui (Kula), but live in San Francisco now. I come back about twice a year. I have plenty of experience fishing for trout and steelhead in CA, but for some reason only recently started getting into saltwater fishing in HI. So far, I've had terrible luck fishing from the shore. I've tried mostly just lures like Kastmasters, poppers, and those papio lures with the feathers. I'm interested in 'yaking as a way to catch more fish, and get some exercise.

I have yet to buy a yak, but I'm considering this cheapo Lifetime Tamarack Angler I saw at Sports Authority. http://www.sportsauthority.com/product/index.jsp?productId=12933432. I'm sure it's junk, but I'm on a budget.

I've been surfing for 25+ years, so I am pretty comfortable in the water. I've paddled kayaks for fun around the inshore a bunch of times and have no trouble with it. However, I am aware of the dangers of kayaking, and plan to start off small just fishing close to shore for smaller game like papio.

I have plenty of questions, but I'll post them in other threads. If anyone would be willing to take me out yaking, or just give me some advice, I'd be stoked.