Author Topic: Don't be an aku bird! A basic guide to fishing etiquette in Hawaii.  (Read 1471 times)

Offline Waimeakauai

Aloha everyone. A teacher by trade, I just couldn't resist writing up a post like this. The sport is growing, and I know a lot of people are coming here looking for knowledge on the fish but, let's not forget about a very important part of fishing. ETIQUETTE. You will find tips on this subject throughout the forums, but I figure why not make a thread to make it easy for the new comers.

Yup you are right, no one owns the ocean. Most ocean activities have etiquette. Don't believe me? I dare you to go surfing and drop in on one of the bruddahs at Bowls or Pipe. With that being said if you don't wanted to be the most hated man on the water....here are some things to know.

1. First come first serve. If someone is on a mark, I guess you should probably wake up earlier next time. They may be doing a particular technique. Go somewhere else, or wait nearby until they leave. Sometimes you snooze you lose.

2. Give other kayakers space. Boats are required to give us 75 yards. We should respect our fellow yakers and do the same. Can you ask someone to approach? Sure. Sometimes people care, sometimes they don't. You never know if they are doing commercial or tournament fishing. It can be a big deal.

3. Following someone. Let's be real here. No one likes being followed. Obviously we are in public areas, but if you want to upset someone then this is one of the fastest ways. Spend enough time on the water, and you will find bait/structures on your own. You might even get a greater understanding of your environment this way.

4. Boat ramps. Unless you are a registered boat owner, you are not paying boat ramp fees. Keep clear of them. Have a big yak that needs to launch from a boat ramp, well be swift and respectful about it. Don't block the way. We don't have right of way in this situation.